Dengeki Bunko Fighting Climax manages the impossible.

Dengeki Bunko Fighting Climax manages the impossible.

That is to say,

It makes Kirito look cool. You know, THAT guy from THAT screencap and stuff.

y47iv9
Cheap “joke” is cheap.

OK, all things considered I don’t hate SAO as much as it may seem, I just don’t care much for it. Anyway, a few years ago a fighting game was released for the PS3 and PSV that really piqued my interest.

Luckily I never paid full price for it, since I got the special edition for twenty bucks a couple of weeks ago.

I haven’t played the game that much, because you know other games and personal projects and stuff, but I’ve spent enough to know it’s a good enough little palate cleanser. Dengeki Bunko Fighting Climax is a watered down fighter, similar to Persona 4 Arena, except the battle mechanics feel less solid. I don’t know, it’s just an ok game, the main attraction of course is the ability to play as some characters from light novels, many of which have been adapted into anime.

For me the main draw was Shizuo Heiwajima as a playable character, yet something unexpected happened that inspired me to waste time writing this short post.

2017-06-17-233748
Beautiful

Kirito has some very cool moves in this game.

Still don’t care much about SAO though.

Granted, I won’t spew hate at the series. This post is not to throw hate at Sword Art Online which must have a lot going for it, otherwise it wouldn’t have as many fans as it does. That series is just not for me,

But you know what is?

Good fighting games, and this is one.

2017-07-08-122529

Dengeki Bunko Fighting Climax gets a full recommendation for me, especially considering you can get it for a relatively small amount of money, then again if you’re into these kinds of games might as well get Blazblue or Guilty Gear, amongst many other alternatives such as Tekken and KOF.

But well, not all fighting games can be Blazblue or Tekken.

Leave a Reply

